Author Topic: RELEASE - FreeICE v2 Alpha 4  (Read 5069 times)

Offline CdRsKuLL

  • The Fat dude !
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 640
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • FreeICE
RELEASE - FreeICE v2 Alpha 4
« on: September 18, 2011, 09:24:36 PM »
Well I've had a few very late nights and hopefully got most of the bug's. This is quite a big update concerning the skin.

I hope you like it.. so what's new ?

Alpha 4 [Changelog]
- Added GPS Embedding (see settings.ini to configure for now)
- Added Menu widget control (Edit / Remove / Add)
- Added ability to change the logo from the edit screen
- Added ability to change the wallpaper from the edit screen
- Added calculator
- Fixed Wrong radio freq on preset 12
- Changed Silabs DLL

Click on the DOWNLOAD Section button at the top. If you can't see it then you need to register / login and please uninstall any previous versions first.

I'm very happy how the edit screen has turned out :-) To enable it just hold down on a empty space. To select the logos / wallpaper / icons etc just click on them.

slightly changed since this picture but you will get the idea :-)



Let me know what you think and if you find any bugs.. I'm very tired now and brains only working 20%.. lol

fi

so what's next...

Alpha 5 will contain

More widgets
CarTFT USB Radio compatibility
Settings screen
If it makes is in time DAB Radio :-)

as always more to come...

CdR
« Last Edit: October 01, 2011, 09:37:23 PM by CdRsKuLL »

Offline bobbo7070

  • Premium Member
  • Newbie
  • ****
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: RELEASE - FreeICE v2 Alpha 4
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2011, 02:47:38 PM »
Hi.

Brilliant job  ;D. Been using 1.9 for 18 months, great to see such a fantastic update in 4.

One quick question (probably a stupid one... :-[), but how do I access the edit screen?

I'm doing what's demonstrated in the video, but nothing happens at the stage where you click on the screen to enter edit mode...???

Cheers.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2011, 04:51:53 PM by bobbo7070 »
Win 7 32 bit, Asus E35M1-I Deluxe, OCX 120g SSD, 4g 1033 ddr3 ram, Creative X-Fi Pro usb, 2 x 500w cheapo stereo amps, Mobile broadband dongle, Lilliput 7" touch screen, five quid usb radio dongle. All packed under the driver seat (not the Lilliput, that'd be silly).

Offline CdRsKuLL

  • The Fat dude !
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 640
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • FreeICE
Re: RELEASE - FreeICE v2 Alpha 4
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2011, 04:46:43 PM »
Hi bobo7070,

If you press and hold an empty bit on the main menu for a second it will switch to edit mode.. Here you can drag the icons about and place them where you want.. if you dont like one you can drop it in the bin, you can also add some by clicking the + in the bottom left.

Also in the edit screen you can change the background and also the logo :-)  I've added a couple of more things ready for alpha 5.... shouldnt be too long I will be getting my CarTFT USB Radio tomorrow so can start coding for that.

thanks.. o and Welcome to the forums .. lol

CdR

Offline bobbo7070

  • Premium Member
  • Newbie
  • ****
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: RELEASE - FreeICE v2 Alpha 4
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2011, 04:59:09 PM »
Jeeez... How daft can I be, really simple  :-[.

Excellent feature, cheers.

Can't wait for the final version, it's gonna beat the pants off other front-ends including the silly expensive ones ;).

Just one more quick question; is the hibernation button operational yet? It doesn't seem to work on my machine.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2011, 05:03:10 PM by bobbo7070 »
Win 7 32 bit, Asus E35M1-I Deluxe, OCX 120g SSD, 4g 1033 ddr3 ram, Creative X-Fi Pro usb, 2 x 500w cheapo stereo amps, Mobile broadband dongle, Lilliput 7" touch screen, five quid usb radio dongle. All packed under the driver seat (not the Lilliput, that'd be silly).

Offline CdRsKuLL

  • The Fat dude !
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 640
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • FreeICE
Re: RELEASE - FreeICE v2 Alpha 4
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2011, 05:14:34 PM »
Hi fella, I dont think it is to be honest.. I think a couple of them don't work, it was on my todo list but never got done for Alpha 4 :-(

I will pull my finger out and get it sorted for the next release.. lol

Glad you like the edit screen, lots more widgets are planned... I want to chat to Enforcer about getting some cameras etc on the screen and maybe a find my m8's widget. Will have to see.

Thanks for the comments

Steve

Offline yellow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: RELEASE - FreeICE v2 Alpha 4
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2011, 08:51:47 AM »
Movie looks great.

I wanted to try it out for myself so i installed it on my Laptop first.

installation went fine but once i tried to start FreeICE I've got this error message:
Quote
Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:   CLR20r3
  Problem Signature 01:   freeice.exe
  Problem Signature 02:   1.0.4275.30760
  Problem Signature 03:   4e7236fa
  Problem Signature 04:   System.Windows.Forms
  Problem Signature 05:   4.0.0.0
  Problem Signature 06:   4da404ee
  Problem Signature 07:   19ab
  Problem Signature 08:   36
  Problem Signature 09:   System.InvalidOperationException
  OS Version:   6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
  Locale ID:   1043
  Additional Information 1:   0a9e
  Additional Information 2:   0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
  Additional Information 3:   0a9e
  Additional Information 4:   0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Read our privacy statement online:
  http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
  C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

I use Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit



Offline CdRsKuLL

  • The Fat dude !
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 640
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • FreeICE
Re: RELEASE - FreeICE v2 Alpha 4
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2011, 12:58:02 PM »
Would you mind trying it in compatibility mode to see if that sorts it ? I don't have a 64bit machine about at the moment for testing.

thanks,

Steve

Offline yellow

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: RELEASE - FreeICE v2 Alpha 4
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2011, 01:07:28 PM »
Would you mind trying it in compatibility mode to see if that sorts it ? I don't have a 64bit machine about at the moment for testing.

thanks,

Steve

Tried a few compatibility modes (Vista, WinXP SP2/SP3) But i get the same error :-(

Offline CdRsKuLL

  • The Fat dude !
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 640
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • FreeICE
Re: RELEASE - FreeICE v2 Alpha 4
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2011, 01:19:50 PM »
Seems it's missing a file.. most likely a dll. Just wondering have you installed Flash and also .net4 ?

If we can't get it to work I will install 64bit on a laptop this week and get it sorted for you.

let me know

Steve

Offline CdRsKuLL

  • The Fat dude !
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 640
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • FreeICE
Re: RELEASE - FreeICE v2 Alpha 4
« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2011, 11:17:01 PM »
Well.. I've done f'all tonight on FI.. sorry :-( I spent a couple of ours modding my dash ready for my install and I managed to have a play with FI on a touch screen. Quite happy with it but I'm going to alter the music screen down to just 5 tracks showing rather than 6 as I think there a little to small really.

I will be doing this before the next release.

Thanks

Steve

Offline bobbo7070

  • Premium Member
  • Newbie
  • ****
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: RELEASE - FreeICE v2 Alpha 4
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2011, 11:33:05 PM »
Been using 4 all week, excellent! Apart from radio dongle problem it's worked great.

(Doesn't work in Windows 9, but then neither does a cartload of other software ;D. I'm gonna keep trying though)
« Last Edit: September 24, 2011, 11:36:33 PM by bobbo7070 »
Win 7 32 bit, Asus E35M1-I Deluxe, OCX 120g SSD, 4g 1033 ddr3 ram, Creative X-Fi Pro usb, 2 x 500w cheapo stereo amps, Mobile broadband dongle, Lilliput 7" touch screen, five quid usb radio dongle. All packed under the driver seat (not the Lilliput, that'd be silly).

Offline chalkie

  • Premium Member
  • Newbie
  • ****
  • Posts: 21
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: RELEASE - FreeICE v2 Alpha 4
« Reply #11 on: September 28, 2011, 01:06:55 PM »
great job thanks chalkie

Offline CdRsKuLL

  • The Fat dude !
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 640
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • FreeICE
Re: RELEASE - FreeICE v2 Alpha 4
« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2011, 08:20:36 AM »
Thanks fella.. Will try and get a bit more done tonight :-)

Offline ephect

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: RELEASE - FreeICE v2 Alpha 4
« Reply #13 on: October 01, 2011, 09:41:55 AM »
have found that when pressing shuffle on a playlist, the screen will pause upto 1-3 secs. thought it might have been the live wallpaper, but does it with and without. does it with roughly 20+ songs

Offline CdRsKuLL

  • The Fat dude !
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 640
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • FreeICE
Re: RELEASE - FreeICE v2 Alpha 4
« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2011, 10:02:05 AM »
Yep that's down to very poor coding and random numbers.. You want to try it on 200 songs it takes ages. What its doing is a very dirty way of generating a random list. It finds out how many songs there are and generates a random number .. It then checks to see if this number is in the list if not it stores it and then goes round again.. So you could infact be waiting for the last number to be generated for ages..this is what's causing the delay. I will be recoding this in alpha 6 :-)