Author Topic: FreeICE V3 Bug Report thread  (Read 59684 times)

Offline marlo

  • Premium Member
  • Jr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 91
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FreeICE V3 Bug Report thread
« Reply #390 on: September 04, 2013, 09:55:26 PM »
Welcome back,CP1 ;D

Offline emigrante

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FreeICE V3 Bug Report thread
« Reply #391 on: October 03, 2013, 08:32:11 AM »
Hey guys,

sorry for my abstinence, had a lot to do.
bought a new car and couldn't find any time to install my carpc
again, until now.  :D

i hope i will be able to support you a bit more than the last 6 month.  :-[


Offline LeZandre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: FreeICE V3 Bug Report thread
« Reply #392 on: October 03, 2013, 09:13:15 AM »
I'm afraid I've run into a major bug involving FreeIce V3 + Windows 8 + capacitive Multi touch - touchscreen.

None of the V3's I've tested will recognise the input from the touchscreen.

Old and trusted V1.92 on the same system does recognise the input.

Can I fix this myself, or does it need a developer's hand ?

Much obliged,

LeZandre

Edit: Update report.

I hooked up a resistive external touchscreen and all goes well (as expected).
Can anyone confirm FreeIce v3 is supposed to work with capacitive touchsceens ?

As far as I can tell, as soon as windows says it's a 'touch and pen enabled' touchscreen, FreeIce v3 won't recognise the input. When it's recognised as a HID (mouse) device v3 will.

So perhaps a word of caution to all the people who want to buy a fancy capacitive touchscreen is in order.
If it can't be configured as a 'mouse' it won't be of any good for FIv3.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2013, 04:23:25 PM by LeZandre »

Offline Morpheus2010

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: FreeICE V3 Bug Report thread
« Reply #393 on: October 11, 2013, 10:36:20 PM »
thanks for the heads up because i was about to upgrade to a 10" capacitive screen for my new win 8 sys, guess i'll go cheaper and just get the resistive sunlight readable one

Offline CdRsKuLL

  • The Fat dude !
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 640
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • FreeICE
Re: FreeICE V3 Bug Report thread
« Reply #394 on: October 13, 2013, 07:02:49 PM »
just to add, I've tried version 3 on my windows 8 tablet (cap screen) and all works well? The touchscreen is only a replacement for the mouse so I would maybe look into the flash version rather than FreeICE. There is no reason why it should stop working just because of a change.

I've no longer got my carpc sadly to do any testing. Apologies

Steve

Offline LeZandre

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: FreeICE V3 Bug Report thread
« Reply #395 on: October 28, 2013, 07:36:38 PM »
As far as I can tell, as soon as windows says it's a 'touch and pen enabled' touchscreen, FreeIce v3 won't recognise the input. When it's recognised as a HID (mouse) device v3 will.
just to add, I've tried version 3 on my windows 8 tablet (cap screen) and all works well? The touchscreen is only a replacement for the mouse so I would maybe look into the flash version rather than FreeICE.
Anyone else who's capacitive multitouch 'touch and pen enabled' screen works fine with v3 under Windows8 ?
I'll have a go at Win7 on the same device tomorrow.